NaNoWriMo is Here…Am I Ready?

NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month, begins Nov. 1, and I’ve decided to put pen to paper…or fingertips to keyboard…and join the fun!

Each year, NaNoWriMo encourages budding authors to complete the first draft of a novel in 30 days. The writer’s progress is celebrated on the official website, along with great morale-boosting tips and fellowship from the online community.

This isn’t a local competition. It’s not a national competition. This is an international writing extravaganza, and last year more than 250,000 writers participated worldwide. On average, one out of seven writers might knock at the 50,000-word goal in those 30 days. I intend to break that goal.

If you are a Writer Gal follower, you’ve already been introduced to a few of my intended cast of Southern characters, but you don’t quite know what I have up my sleeve. Heck, I don’t quite know what I have up my sleeve for the next 30 days, but I intend to get writing and share a little of my progress here on The Writer Gal.

As I post tidbits of my work in November, please let me know your thoughts about characters, plot, writing style…your comments will help me reach my goal!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “NaNoWriMo is Here…Am I Ready?

  1. Charlotte Morris

    Go for it!

    Sent from my iPhone

    On Oct 26, 2012, at 6:50 PM, The Writer Gal wrote:

    WordPress.com The Writer Gal posted: “NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month begins Nov. 1, and I’ve decided to put pen to paper…or fingertips to keyboard…and join the fun! Each year, NaNoWriMo encourages budding authors to complete the first draft of a novel in 30 days. The writer”

    Like

  2. John Simon

    Well said! You’ve done a superb job with this site. You devotion and attention to detail are quite apparent. I take it you are somewhat of a pro, or you’ve just been posting for a while now. Anyhow, I have read through your articles and they made me grin. Just how you link with the audience is incredible. You have a lot of potential. Never stop!
    If at some time you could be interested in writing some more on the side, this corporation is often searching for additional authors: http://jobs.ncsall.com. You should let these folks know I highly recommend you. Email me with any issues.

    Like

Leave a Reply

