That Kind of Day

It was that kind of day. The kind of day that’s so bad, you just want to go home and start over.

It began with the crash of an unexpected thunderstorm that rattled my bedroom windows, startled my pup from her peaceful slumber, and left me with a headache. The next two hours foreshadowed what the rest of the day would hold…loud, temperamental blasts from a restless windbag.

As the day wore on, pieces of the puzzle in my mind began to fall gently into place. I knew the answer, but I didn’t know if I should tell.

The hours raced away until the sunlight waned low behind the white brick buildings framing the city. But, my day was long from over.

Trading one chore for a host of others, I eventually arrived home, and my first stop was a hot shower. I couldn’t scrub away the day’s grime fast enough, hard enough.

Finally standing under the stream of hot water watching the pearly bubbles slowly trickle through the drain below I had to wonder…would tomorrow be the same?

10 Comments

Filed under Fiction, Uncategorized

10 responses to “That Kind of Day

  1. Love your work. This one is a head scratcher. Left me wondering who was the windbag and what chores you traded for, why your day wasn’t over and why you felt it necessary to scrub so hard. Are you a cop? A sanitation worker? . Love your phrasing…”pearly bubbles” and such.

    Like

    • Hi, Tom! No, not a cop or sanitation worker…public relations by trade. Sometimes it feels the same, though! HA! This was one of those days that I just couldn’t shake, that required lots of hot water, bubbles and if I drank…lots of alcohol! I’m so happy that it left you wondering and wanting more. I plan to take part in NaNoWriMo in November. If you haven’t heard of this phenom, check it out: http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/dashboard. I’ll be sharing parts of my work on The Writer Gal. I’d love to know what you think…and I promise it won’t be as confusing. Enjoy, and thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  2. my friend, i am now a big fan of yours and your blog’s follower, thanks for the help. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Like

  3. hello! i wanted to thank you for this great read!! i am definitely enjoying every little bit of it i have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post. lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email lista de email

    Like

Leave a Reply

