Adho Mukha Mazieball Svanasana

Adho Mukha Mazieball SvanasanaIt was a Friday morning. I was on my way to work. Stuck in traffic, the only things on my mind as I sat on the overpass overlooking the airbase was the mocha awaiting me just past the intersection and knowing I would have to get the legislative update out quickly that morning.

I was a little late leaving that morning, which put me smack in the middle of rush-hour traffic when folks drive faster and more recklessly. I didn’t see the white Nissan Pathfinder behind me until it was too late.

But, I heard it…twice.

It’s the reason I haven’t had a pain-free day or night in more than two years.

The Pathfinder hit me first. Then, SUV behind the Pathfinder rammed it causing the Pathfinder to jam into my mini-SUV a second time. At some point I pulled my emergency brake because my bracelet was wrapped around the handle.

You know that saying about seeing stars? I saw stars. I couldn’t unbuckle my seatbelt. I was injured, and all I can remember thinking was, “What’s wrong with this damned button?”

Now, thanks to the Pathfinder, if it isn’t a full-blown migraine that makes me want to crack my skull and spill the contents inside to make the pain go away, it’s the searing jolt to my back and hips in the middle of the night after only a few hours of sleep that get me out of bed fumbling around for some kind of relief. That was more than two hours ago…just a little before 2 a.m.

Tomorrow’s going to be a very long day.

I’ve fought my way though pain before, so this shouldn’t be any different. I feel as thought I’m a tough chick, but I’m beginning to crack a little. I was diagnosed with arthritis when I was a teenager, and I discovered all the little tricks to ease the aches and pain long ago.

Those tricks no longer work.

My favorite trick is the yoga ball. Oh, it feels so good to lie across that big ol’ball! But, my poor little pup, Mazie…well, she’s unimpressed. You see, all the toys I’ve bought for her over the years – sock monkey, purple man, star, rope man, frog, to name a few – have never measured up to her little pink squeaky ball. That stupid little $.99 ball is never far away from her and tends to pop up when I don’t want to play ball. Like tonight. I’m lying on MY ball, and she goes to get HER ball. It’s go time!

Trying to balance face down on a yoga ball while throwing Mazie’s little pink ball and praying the pain medication that I’m allergic to will eventually kick in should have one of those extremely long yoga asana names.

Adho Mukha Svanasana, which means Downward Facing Dog, is one of my favorite yoga positions. Maybe I should name this new position Adho (downward) Mukha (facing) Mazieball (self explanatory) Svana (dog). Makes sense to me. Adho Mukha Mazieball Svanasana. Downward Facing Mazieball.

I’m tired, and I don’t just mean right now at this moment. That should be a given. Anyone who only sleeps a couple of hours a night should be tired. I’m tired because everything I’ve tried doesn’t work. I do know the solution, but I’m just not ready for that step…yet.

Until then…Adho Mukha Mazieball Svanasana. I hope PetSmart never sells out of little pink balls.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Adho Mukha Mazieball Svanasana

  1. My heart goes out to you. I had acute 24/7 pain for 40 years and I tried everything. Last year I had two spinal stimulators implanted and I finally have some relief.
    Thanks for visiting my blog. You’re a good writer and I enjoyed nosing around on your site tonight. All the best, Deborah Owen

    Like

  2. jrg4326

    I just want to say I think it’s pretty cool that you write and your last name is Quiller, as in quill, quill pen. Funny.

    Like

Leave a Reply

